Reliable representation for your DUI charges
A conviction for driving under the influence (DUI) becomes part of a permanent criminal record that follows you for the rest of your life. At Arora & LaScala, we understand that serious offenses such as DUI call for serious litigation. Being former prosecutors, with more than 4 decades of combined legal experience, our attorneys know what you’re up against in a DUI case, and that knowledge works to your advantage. As one of the most trusted DUI lawyers in Georgia, Michael LaScala has been certified in DUI Detection & Standardized Field Sobriety Testing using the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration curriculum. The NHTSA curriculum is the same curriculum used to train DUI Task Force law enforcement agents and officers throughout the United States. Michael LaScala’s skill and experience puts you in extremely capable hands when you’ve been charged with a DUI in Georgia.
When you’re stopped for DUI
If you’re pulled over by a police offer on the suspicion that you’re driving under the influence, that officer can test you for intoxication through either field sobriety tests or chemical tests. A field sobriety test, although generally considered inaccurate for its assumption of a suspect’s good health, may include walk-and-turn, finger-to-nose, stand-on-one-leg and horizontal gaze nystagmus (rapid eye movement, usually from side to side). Chemical tests are considered to be more accurate and include blood tests and urinalysis. In any case, police are only human – and every human is capable of making mistakes. If a mistake has been made, we work to expose it.
Renowned protection from Georgia’s harsh DUI penalties
In Georgia, a blood alcohol level of 0.08 percent or higher automatically results in DUI for a driver of at least 21 years of age. The blood alcohol limit for drivers under 21 is 0.02, and for commercial drivers the limit is 0.04. If you are driving a commercial vehicle and testing reveals any amount of alcohol, a 24-hour out-of-service order is issued, and the vehicle is impounded. If a person’s blood alcohol level exceeds 1.5, the state can impose harsher DUI penalties.
If you’re convicted of a DUI, you could be subject to the following penalties under Georgia law:
First offense — Jail time ranging from 24 hours to 1 year, with a fine of $300 to $1,000, at least $200 for license reinstatement and other penalties that include license suspension up to one year, community service of at least 40 hours and mandatory risk reduction school
Second offense within ten years of first offense — Jail time ranging from 3 days to 1 year, a fine of $600 to $1,000, $210 for license reinstatement and other penalties that include license suspension for one year, community service of at least 30 days and required clinical evaluation
Third offense within ten years of second offense — Jail time of at least 15 days to 1 year, a fine of $1,000 to $5,000, license revoked for 5 years, community service of at least 30 days and the embarrassment of being labeled a habitual violator in local newspapers